About the Commission

The zoning commission is responsible for reviewing each application to rezone land or change the text of the existing Zoning Resolution. The board also makes recommendations to the township trustees on each application or text amendment. An application may be initiated by the property owner, the trustees or the zoning commission.

It can be seen, then, that the zoning commission’s deliberation and ultimate recommendation are very important. As a result, the Zoning Commission often meets with an applicant several times to ensure all issues are considered before sending a recommendation forward for final action by the trustees. Only the township trustees have the authority to actually approve a zoning change or text amendment. Although, the trustees must receive the zoning commission’s recommendation the trustees can accept, modify, deny or override the recommendation from the zoning commission by majority vote.

The Jefferson Township zoning commission consists of five members and one alternate member which are appointed by the township trustees. As required by Ohio Revised Code (ORC) §519, all members must be residents of the unincorporated area of Jefferson Township. Appointments for the member are five years, and the terms overlap. The alternate member is appointed to serve a one-year term.

The zoning commission meetings are held on the third Thursday of each month at 7 p.m. the Jefferson Township fire station, 6767 Havens Corners Road. 

2017 Rezoning Hearing Schedule >

2017 Members
Linda Mosbacher
Brian Sichel - Vice-Chair
Ike Westfall
Charley Wise - Chair
Rick Winnestaffer
Karen Bokor, Alternate